Bob Marley Museum
The museum is situated on the site of the legendary musician’s home, which he purchased in 1975 . This house, featuring 19th-century architecture , was Marley’s home until his death in 1981. It was converted into a museum six years later. The main museum displays Marley’s personal treasures. The property also features a well-equiped 80-seat theatre, a gallery and a gift shop. Other stores offer snacks, herbs and spices, and African arts and crafts.
- USD $25.00 per person
Built on the West Bank of the Rio Cobre the town lies thirteen miles from Kingston on the main road. As a site of historical importance, its history was shaped by its experiences within two significant colonial periods. These periods are the Spanish from 1534–1655 and the English from 1655 -1782. The history of Spanish Town lives on in the remains of the old buildings in its street names that mark it as the start of Jamaica’s overall historyKing Street received its name because it runs past King’s House and Constitution Street, near to the Square, it also refers to the fact that the island’s administrative centre used to be located there. The centre of the town boasts a few Regency buildings, including the Rodney Memorial and the façade of the Old King’s House, which was the residence of the governors until 1872.
Old Iron Bridge
Spanish Town is home to an early cast-iron bridge designed by Thomas Wilson and manufactured by Walker and Company of Rotherham, England. Spanning the Rio Cobre, the bridge was erected in 1801 Its four arched ribs are supported on massive masonry abutments. After the abutments deteriorated, endangering the structure, it was listed in the 1998 World Monuments Watch.
A restoration project began in 2004, with funding provided by American Express through the World Monuments Fund. Nevertheless, progress was slow until 2008, when a renewed restoration effort was made. A first phase of restoration was completed in April 2010, when the repair of the abutments allowed the bridge to be reopened for the public.
Tuff Gong Studio
It is one of the biggest recording studios in the Caribbean. Artistes, musicians, producers and tourists travel from all over the world to see and use it.
Tuff Gong International, which was founded by Bob Marley in 1965, moved to the offices at 220 Marcus Garvey Drive, which was previously known as Federal Records. Tuff Gong International’s product and sales manager, Rita Marley bought Federal Records after Bob’s death and made it Tuff Gong International’s base.
The company includes a recording studio, mastering room, stamper room, pressing plant, cassette plant, wholesale record shop and booking agency, as well as offices for Rita Marley Music. It was at this studio that Bob recorded definitive versions of No Woman No Cry, Trench Town Rock, Stir It Up, Concrete Jungle, Redemption Song, Buffalo Soldier and Could You Be Loved, just to name a few. Since its inception, Bob Marley and Tuff Gong International have sold millions of records and continue to do so.
- USD $25.00 per person